What I’ve Lost

As I get older, the enormity of the “have not’s” weigh heavily on me. I will never have the daughters love from my first-born child, I have lost out on the memories of the crazy and funny stories of her childhood. I will never have memories of comforting her when she was hurt, nor of nursing her as a baby. My other two daughters have not grown up with an older sister to gossip with, fight with and to get into mischief with. They will never know the love of a big sister. I will not be the mother of the bride as my daughter gets married this fall nor will I be in attendance. I will not be by her side as my grandchildren are born into this world as my descendents will be lost to me. Adoption has robbed me of all this.

Creative Commons License
What I’ve Lost by vampporcupine is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

